What ETS Actually Says

What the published TOEFL documents specify about the 2026 test — and where they say nothing at all.

Sources last checked 27 August 2026

ETS publishes a good deal about how the TOEFL is built and scored: a technical manual, a specifications document for the 2026 update, an overview with worked examples of every task, and a guide to the new score scale.

This page reports what those four documents say, in plain terms, with each point attributed to the one it came from.

It also records where they are silent. Several things a student would reasonably want to know are simply not specified anywhere, and saying so is more useful than filling the gap with a confident number. Where we work to an estimate, we say it is an estimate.

What the documents specify

Scores run 1 to 6, in half bands, and map onto CEFR.

A section score of 5 means C1 on that section — and it means the same thing on every section, which was not true before the January 2026 update.

Score Scale Update guide

The total score is an average, not a sum.

The four section scores are averaged and rounded to the nearest half band. A strong section cannot be added to the total; it can only pull the average up.

Score Scale Update guide

Listen and Repeat has 7 items, scored out of 5 each.

All seven are AI-scored, none machine-scored, with a CEFR target range spanning A1 to C2 — the widest of any task.

2026 Blueprint

Listen and Repeat sentences get longer across a set.

The specification describes items "increasing in length and syntactic complexity", beginning with a single independent clause and building to compound verbs, dependent and relative clauses. The progression is required, not stylistic.

2026 Blueprint

The scenario is given in writing as well as in audio.

The introduction that sets up a Speaking task is delivered both aurally and in print. Only the sentences to be repeated are audio-only.

2026 Blueprint

Speaking tasks carry on-screen visuals.

The specification names "schematic images, maps, forms, or photos of speakers" as elements included to support understanding.

2026 Blueprint

Announcements run about 40–85 words.

An explicit figure, and an easy one to miss: it appears in the Test Overview, not in the Technical Manual, which is silent on it.

Test Overview

Academic talks run about 175–250 words.

The Technical Manual gives 175–250. The Test Overview gives a looser "about 100–250". Where two ETS documents differ, the tighter figure is the safer target.

Technical Manual; Test Overview

What the documents do not say

How long you get to speak in Listen and Repeat.

No response timing appears in any of the sources below — no number of seconds, no cue, no preparation period. Test takers describe a short window that closes by itself, and that account is consistent enough to plan around. It is simply not written down, so we practice against the clock rather than against a published figure.

Not specified

How a repeated sentence is broken down when scored.

The documents state that all seven items are AI-scored and worth up to 5 points each. They do not publish the dimensions behind that score. Any named three-part breakdown you encounter comes from outside ETS.

Not specified

How long a conversation runs.

Announcements and academic talks have stated lengths. Conversations do not. Two worked examples in the Test Overview measure 52 and 85 words, which gives a working range — but it is a measurement taken from examples, not a specification, and we treat it as such.

Measured, not specified

Why schools ask for 5.5 rather than 5

This is the question the scale change created, and the answer is arithmetic rather than ambition.

A single band on this scale covers what used to be a span of several points. An institution converting an existing requirement therefore cannot map it onto one band cleanly: choosing 5 would admit some applicants who fall below where its bar used to sit. Choosing 5.5 removes that risk.

The cost is that 5.5 is stricter than the old requirement really was, for applicants near the top of the 5 band. ETS names this trade-off in its own guidance — the higher bar reduces false admissions and increases false rejections.

So 5.5 is not a demand for exceptional C1. It is a cautious conversion onto a coarser scale, which is worth knowing if your target has moved up a band and the jump feels arbitrary.

Scores and CEFR levels
CEFRScore
C26
C15 – 5.5
B24 – 4.5
B13 – 3.5
A22 – 2.5
A11 – 1.5

The mapping is the same for every section and for the total, which is the change that makes a section score directly meaningful.

The sources

All four are published by ETS and free to read. Every link above was checked on the date at the top of this page; ETS moves files from time to time, so if one has gone stale, tell us. The facts here are stated in our own words, and where ETS's exact phrasing matters it is quoted briefly and attributed. ETS has not reviewed this page and had no part in it — any error is ours, and worth telling us about too.

Knowing what the test specifies is the easy half. The hard half is the errors that cost you marks on it, over and over, in the same places.

Why it works →
KotobaPro
Contactkotobapro.com